Action/Adventure adult - 18+ Anna Book Closeted Established Couple Established Couple/Sequel Gay Gay Historical Homophobia m/m Magic Mid level angst Mid level steam/heat Monthly Theme Novel 140 pgs + (80K + words) Part of a Series Purchased Spooky! Witches/Warlocks/Wizards

Spooky! Drakenwood (Whyborne & Griffin #9) Audiobook by Jordan L Hawk Narrated by

Amazon Link


Someone is killing members of the old families…and the evidence points to Whyborne.

Widdershins has been unusually quiet for months. But now a mysterious creature from the Outside is on the loose, assassinating members of the town’s old families by draining their blood. Whyborne and Griffin set out to solve the mystery—but as the evidence piles up, the police begin to suspect Whyborne himself is the murderer.

Now Whyborne must both clear his name and stop the horrors the monster threatens to unleash. His only hope: an alliance with his old enemies the Endicotts.

Because something terrible lurks in the Draakenwood, and it will stop at nothing to seize control of the maelstrom itself.

Draakenwood is the ninth book in the Whyborne & Griffin series, where magic, mystery, and m/m romance collide with Victorian era America.



One could argue that you already know what this review is going to say, because I basically just repeat myself in every review I do for this series: I LOVED IT! I have no idea how Ms. Hawk manages to be 9 books in to a series and still continues to keep everything fresh, interesting and never ever tiresome or repetetive. I realise that not everyone loves the same kind of books, but truly, regardless of what kind of stories notmally does it for you, this series WILL do it for you. Ms. Hawk is a master! A true storyteller. She blends romance, friendship, family, suspense, the supernatural and historical fiction seamlessly and she never ever drops the ball! Really – we are 9 books in, and every thread that she has ever dangled has been neatly tied or woven deeper into the fabric of the main story arc. How she manages this while still somehow keeping each installment of the series self contained is a complete mystery to me – but she does!

This story picks up after Fallow ended. So many things are up in the air. The Fidelis is still an obvious threat but most of all there’s the impending arrival of the unknown masters, and with them, the end of the world, to worry about. This is a threat so much bigger than Whyborne, even bigger than the maelstroem and Whyborne ends up allying with old enemies to try and find out more, things are getting even more complicated by the arrival of a new police chief in town, who is out to make a name for himself. Widdershins knows it’s own, and this man is not one of them! This story is creepy and intense and it leaves you desperately needing the next book in the series.

I would say: go read it! But you really shouldn’t start here. Go back to the beginning. Start with Widdershins and be happy because you’ll know going in, that you will have 9 brilliant books ahead of you, with more to come!

Number of stars 6 out of 5


Copy Purchased for Review

(Don’t forget – commenters on this month’s “spooky reviews” will be entered to win some Jordan L Hawk swag or $15 from Dreamspinner!)



3 replies on “Spooky! Drakenwood (Whyborne & Griffin #9) Audiobook by Jordan L Hawk Narrated by”

I totally agree with you! This is one of the best series. I eagerly await each new book.

Thanks for all the great reviews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.