4 stars adult - 18+ Angst Level Book Contemporary Dreamspinner Enemies to Lovers Gay GFY/OFY Heat Index Homophobia Insta Love Little to no angst long distance love m/m Mid level steam/heat Morgan Novel 140 pgs + (80K + words) Opposites attract Part of a Series Unrequited Love

A Country Boy at Heart by MA Church

release day review

Dreamspinner Presents



Hot damn, what more could a country boy want? Bass Pro Shop is finally opening in Tennessee. Nick plans to check out all twelve indoor acres chock-full of hunting, fishing, and boating in the Memphis Pyramid on the Mississippi River.

City boy Sandy wonders yet again how he let himself get talked into attending a grand opening for a hick hunting store. His geeky heart prefers the energy of the city. Little does he know all that is going to change due to a freakishly tall glass elevator—and Nick, the high-school crush who’s suddenly taking a second look at him.

A moment of panic while trapped in the elevator leads to a spark neither expected. Getting out is the least of the challenges they’ll face if they want to try to put their differences aside and find out if love is possible between a city boy and a country boy.

States of Love: Stories of romance that span every corner of the United States.


This is a book virtually free of angst. It’s sweet and funny and fairly sexy.

The MCs resolve their past issues without a lot of fanfare – which was appreciated – and move into exploring today’s possibilities with open minds. They respect each other and move at a very reasonable pace, but yet the chemistry is still very evident.

I wanted to know more about Sandy and Houston? – are they a thing – it was quite mysterious!

I thought that they could have ended this on an even more solid note – it felt like these guys had been moving towards something permanent right from the start – but it was very sweet and a solid HEA.

I think this is the best book (that I’ve read) in this series so far. Recommended!

4 of 5 stars


Morgan - Signature-small

Copy Generously Provided by Publisher for Honest Review




3 stars adult - 18+ Angst Level artists Book Dreamspinner Gay Hurt/comfort Insta Love long distance love m/m Mid level steam/heat Mild level angst Morgan Novel 140 pgs + (80K + words) Part of a Series Rent Boy

Will You Be My Escort (Carlisles Book 2) by Meg Harding

release day review

Dreamspinner Presents



A Carlisles novel

Jackson Carlisle has rotten luck with men and women, and after an especially bad situation, he takes a step back from romance. But with a two-week family reunion in Hawaii looming, his mom is determined to set him up with one of the sweet singles she knows would be perfect for him. A normal person would tell her no and be done with it. Instead, Jackson tells her he has a boyfriend. The only problem? He doesn’t.

Aaron Wilkes is an escort. He’s a little surprised when a friend’s girlfriend hires him to date her brother, but he’s had stranger jobs. Jackson is cute, and he thinks a fling with Aaron might be just the kind of no-strings-attached fun he needs to get over his dry spell. As they explore the islands together, their carefully laid plans begin to get away from them. Feelings aren’t supposed to come into play, but that shouldn’t be a problem. After all, you can’t fall in love in two weeks….



I really like Meg Harding’s characters and really enjoyed Dinner For One, so I was psyched to see that it was the beginning of a series. Unfortunately, this just didn’t work for me as well as the first book.

I struggled a bit with the first person present narrative in Dinner For One and in Will You Be My Escort I really, really struggled with it. I’d be reading along and then a phrase or most commonly an action would really jolt me out of the scene based purely on the tense.

Another “objection” in this story is Jackson. I just didn’t like him as much as I wanted to. I didn’t connect with him and his hot/cold treatment of Aaron was hard to read. I found his self deprecation more annoying than charming and it got old fast. When the guys do finally reconnect “for good” it felt like more of a HFN (strongly leading toward HEA) than a solid HEA and those are never my favorite.

I also thought the whole idea of brining a friend of a friend to a family reunion in Hawaii was a little odd – so the initial premise bothered me from the start.

I’ll definitely continue with this series because I really like all the secondary characters and especially love Bastien!

3 of 5 stars


Morgan - Signature-small

Copy Generously Provided by Publisher for Honest Review



adult - 18+ Angst Level Audiobook Book Chef Contemporary Dreamspinner Friends to lovers Gay Heat Index Insta Love long distance love m/m Mid level steam/heat Mild level angst Morgan New Adult Novel 140 pgs + (80K + words) Part of a Series reality tv Teacher

Lovers, Losers and You (Sunshine and Happiness Book 2) by Skylar M Cates


Dreamspinner Presents



How can you lose one dream and still find another?
Owen King is a lonely history teacher who wants to be braver. So when Owen learns about the deceased brother he never met, he breaks free of his safety net and risks answers. Despite his loving, adopted family, Owen wonders if there are missing pieces inside of him. Visiting the seaside town of Ocean Vista, where his brother lived and died, will be no vacation.

Andrew Teagan wants to be a winner. After being dumped by his last boyfriend, Andrew is through letting others dictate his life. To prove that dreams are possible, he’s going after his ambitions full force. Having signed on for a cooking reality show, Andrew’s ready to make his small café into a sizzling success.

When Andrew aids Owen on the beach, what starts off as an act of kindness turns into a hot temptation. But can a sweet budding romance survive when the time comes for Owen to leave town? Both men must learn to trust each other if their love will conquer the miles between them.


Book one reviewed here

I loved that (in comparison to book one) this book is almost angst-free (relationship-wise). There is drama about the show and things in the house, but the guys fall for one another and trust that. They move from “just met” to “can’t live without one another” rapidly, but also in a way that seems really organic and authentic.

In the end this is a story of two men falling in love over a week and agreeing to take a chance on that love. It was simple and sweet and sometimes sexy, but low on angst.

We also see the seeds of the future books/couples here: Morgan and River; Tomas and Marc and we get to spend a bit more time with Ian and Cole being ridiculously cute and in love.

Skylar Cates’ writing is lovely, as always, flowing and without effort. She brings depth and emotion to her characters and really bring them alive for her readers.

Fans of the series and the author won’t be disappointed with this book, and I think it does well as a stand-alone, too.

I highly recommend this book, series and author. It’d be great to see these guys more on their own (stress free) and I hope we see that in future books.



Hugh Bradley is dear to me for his work on Behind the Curtain by Amy Lane.  In that he was exceptional as the young and naive Dawson.  I think that soft voice really suits him. He does a nice job with Tomas’ accent, though it isn’t perfect.  He doesn’t do a lot for the women’s voices, but it’s obvious who’s speaking at all times.  His Southern accent is nice, giving Owen a gentle drawl.  He’s great at the emotions, pacing and is easy to listen to.  This was an easy listen and I think this is a great way to enjoy this lovely story.

4.5 of 5 stars



Morgan - Signature-small

Copy Generously Provided by Publisher for Honest Review